My Little Pony(tail)

There has been a trend floating around the hair world for almost a year now. It’s aptly named the dip dye and obviously, I’m obsessed. I first learned about this gorgeous use of fun colors from Lauren Conrad and her blog The Beauty Department (I’ve linked to her original post, with full instructions on how to get gorgeous dip dyed locks.)

I actually tried this on my hair a few weeks ago and I couldn’t stop staring at it. The swirls of bright turquoise and purple had me completely mesmerized.  Since we decided against bleaching out the tips like Lauren did, the color faded a little faster than anticipated. But we gave it another go and this time we added pink to my turquoise and purple. The result; a dreamy My Little Pony, cotton candy, vibrant, gorgeous head of colorful hair.

And I’m in love.

For my hair, I’m lucky enough to have a hairstylist for a best friend (perk of life.) We were touching up my blonde highlights anyways, so the tone of my hair was already pretty light. Especially since it’s summer we upped the amount of blonde through the sections. Trust me, my colorist is a miracle worker.

We divided the hair section by section and took 1 inch pieces and painted the color on the bottom three or four inches of hair. Wrapped each individual section in foil and rotated each color. We let the color sit for a little longer than it said on the package just because we wanted it to saturate further.

We used Manic Panic in Atomic Turquoise and Purple Haze and Color Jamz in Raspberry Kamikazie from Sally Beauty Supply.

I would recommend using a color saving shampoo and rinsing with cool water; it will extend the life of your color a few days.

Obviously this isn’t a permanent hair decision, but it’s fun for the summer. Thankfully my workplace allows extreme hair colors so make sure you double-check with your own work before you take the plunge into this crazy color craze.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment